About Guyana

Guyana is an indigenous word which means "Land of Many Waters".
The Cooperative Republic of Guyana is located on the north-eastern corner of the South American continent; bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the north, Suriname to the east, Venezuela to the west and Brazil to the south. We are also one of the least densely populated countries on Earth and have a wide variety of natural habitats and very high biodiversity. Guyana, which has a land area of 83,000 square miles, is the only country in the South American continent in which English is the official language.
Guyana is often considered part of the Caribbean region because of its strong cultural, historical, and political ties with other Anglo-Caribbean countries and the Caribbean Community (CARICOM). Guyana was colonised by the Dutch before coming under British control in the late 18th century. It was governed as British Guiana, with a mostly plantation-style economy until the 1950s.
On May 26, 1966, Guyana became an independent sovereign nation, changing its name from British Guiana to Guyana.

Guyana is a multi-ethnic society and according to the World Population Prospects, its total population was 804,567 in 2021. The country's main economic activities are agriculture, mining, timber, and fishing. In 2015 the first of several significant deep-water oil discoveries were found, which will have a significant effect on Guyana’s economy.

More than 80% of Guyana is still covered by forest. Its tropical climate, unique geology, and relatively pristine ecosystems support extensive areas of species-rich rainforests and natural habitats. Recently the Guyanese Government has identified the concept of a Low Carbon Development Strategy to advance the sustainable development of the resources of the country. This concept not only responds to current global realities on climate change but also offers the promise of a diversified growth strategy that utilises the country’s rich natural resources.

The Golden Arrowhead

The national flag of Guyana is officially known as "The Golden Arrowhead". It has been the flag of Guyana since May 1966 when the country gained independence from the United Kingdom. The flag was designed by Whitney Smith, an American vexillologist, who originally designed the flag without the black and white fimbriations. These were later added on the suggestion of the College of Arms in the United Kingdom. The flag colours are symbolic, with red for zeal and dynamism, gold for mineral wealth, green for agriculture and forests, black for endurance, and white for rivers and water.

Coat of Arms

The official coat of arms of Guyana was granted by the College of Arms of the United Kingdom on 25 February 1966. The unique design includes a crest of an Amerindian head-dress which symbolizes the indigenous people of the country, this crest is also called the Cacique's Crown; two diamonds at the sides of the head-dress which represents the mining industry; a helmet; two jaguars as supporters holding a pick axe, sugar cane, and a stalk of rice, which symbolizes Guyana's mining, sugar and rice industries; a shield decorated with the Victoria amazonica lily, Guyana's national flower; three blue wavy lines representing the three main rivers of Guyana; and the national bird, the Canje Pheasant. The national motto of Guyana, "One people, One Nation, One Destiny", appears on the scroll below the shield.

Guyana - Philippines Relations

The Cooperative Republic of Guyana and the Republic of the Philippines established official diplomatic relations on September 25, 2008. 

His Excellency Joseph Gerard B. Angeles is currently the Non-Resident Ambassador-Designate of the Philippines to Guyana.

The Honourable Joseph D'Oliveira is the first diplomatic representative and Honorary Consul of Guyana to be appointed in the Philippines.

Consul D'Oliveira together with Dr. Matthew Pajares Yngson, Deputy to the Consul and Trade and Commerce Liaison of the Consulate, are members of the Consular Corps of the Philippines, a diplomatic institution that forms part of the World Federation of Consuls (FICAC). The Organization of American States (OAS), an inter-govermental organization of which Guyana is a member, recognizes FICAC as a diplomatic partner. FICAC also has Special Consultative Status at the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).

The Consulate of Guyana in the Philippines is the only diplomatic mission of Guyana in Southeast Asia.
© 2023-2024 - All Rights Reserved
Consulate of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana
In partnership with the Caribbean ASEAN Council
This website may use Cookies
This website may use Cookies in order to work better. At anytime you can disable or manage it in your browser's settings. Using our website, means you agree with Cookies usage.

OK, I understand or More Info
Cookies Information
This website may use Cookies in order to work better. At anytime you can disable or manage it in your browser's settings. Using our website, means you agree with Cookies usage.
OK, I understand